Current In Design Awards Call for Submissions

Current In Design Awards

Traditionally, design professionals have been tasked with creating appealing living environments where citizens and businesses can thrive, but today’s complex living environment also requires us to address more daunting challenges, like climate extremes, affordability, sustainability and social equity.

The role of the design community—architects, engineers, planners and designers—has never been more pivotal as towns and cities confront this matrix of issues.

We recognize that responsive, thoughtful design and development thrives where good work is recognized and valued. That is the mission of  The Current In Design Awards.

The Current In Design Awards will shine a spotlight on the people and projects that are rising to the challenge, making our region a better place to live, work and play—and consequently more competitive economically.

We aim to explore our region’s built environment and use our editorial voice and keynote speakers at the awards event to help educate our community and its leadership on the important relationship between quality of built community and quality of life.

Call for Submissions

Deadline: Jan. 12, 2023 @ 5 p.m.

Questions? Contact Cherry Fisher May @ [email protected]


Jurors will consider awards of excellence or merit for projects in the following categories:

  • New Construction (Residential or Commercial)
  • Historic Preservation/Restoration (Residential or Commercial)
  • Historic Preservation/Adaptive Re-Use (Residential or Commercial)
  • Master Planning/Urban Design

Additional awards may be considered for innovation, career achievement and community initiatives.

Submissions for In Design 2023 are closed.


  • Project must be completed between January 1, 2017, and December 31, 2022.
  • Project must be located in Acadia, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin or Vermilion parishes. (Architecture and design firms are not required to be domiciled within those six parishes to submit entries.)
  • Buildings and homes constructed before 1970 are eligible in the Historic Preservation category.
  • Commercial projects require a licensed architect. Residential projects do not.
  • AIA members will receive a discount on submission fees for commercial and master planning/urban design projects.

Additional Infomation

How much does it cost to enter a project?
  • Residential – $40
  • Commercial (AIA) – $100
  • Commercial (Non-AIA) – $150
  • Master Planning/Urban Design (AIA) – $100
  • Master Planning/Urban design (Non-AIA) – $150

AIA members will receive a discount on submission fees for commercial and master planning/urban design projects.

Can I submit multiple entries?

Yes, refresh the page once you’ve completed your first entry and fill out the form again.

What are the requirements for photos?

You may submit 5 to 12 hi-resolution (300+ dpi) photos and a digital copy of plans. For historic preservation projects, please include up to 5 additional before/during and after photos.

Submissions will be judged blind. Avoid displaying architect or firm name, logo, project ID or any symbol or identifying marks on photos.

Animations accepted. No video, please.

For historic preservation projects, what is the difference between restoration and adaptive re-use?

Restoration projects must sustain the existing form or intent of the project, including interiors.

Adaptive Re-use projects convert an interior to a use other than its original design.